What does the MasterChef 2019 winner get, what does the trophy look like and where are past winners now?

Here's what you can expect and what the chef who's crowned winner can expect…

What does the MasterChef 2019 winner get?

The winner is awarded the coveted MasterChef trophy.

But it is the recognition, prestige and exposure that is the main appeal of winning the contest.

In the past finalists have gone to open their own restaurants or have launched a culinary career.

The website says: “MasterChef sets out to find the UK’s best amateur cook.

“A cook whose talent and passion could transform their life.

“It’s a life-changing journey for many, but only one will be crowned the nation’s MasterChef.”

What does the trophy look like?

The MasterChef trophy is the show’s logo; the letter ‘m’ surrounded by two circles.

It is made of polished aluminium and mounted on a tiered aluminium base.

Makers of the award, Gaudio, say on their website: “The MasterChef trophy is instantly recognisable and is treasured by winners.”

The trophy was redesigned in 2012.

What have past winners done?

  • Series 1, 2005 – Thomasina Miers. Became the co-founder of Wahaca chain of Mexican Restaurants.
  • Series 2, 2006 – Peter Bayless. Published My Father Could Only Boil Cornflakes and teaches at various cookery schools.
  • Series 3, 2007 – Steve Wallis. Became the group head of culinery innovation at Two Sisters Food Group.
  • Series 4, 2008 – James Nathan. Opened The Green Room restaurant in Cornwall and took over  St Enodoc Hotel in Rock.
  • Series 5, 2009 – Mat Follas. Wrote two cookery books and opened Bramble Cafe and Deli in Dorset with his wife.
  • Series 6, 2010 – Dhruv Baker. Wrote Spice: Layers of Flavour and children's cookery book Spice Story, and became co-owner of Earlsfield Kitchen and The Jolly Gardeners in Wandsworth
  • Series 7, 2011 – Tim Anderson. Opened Nanban Japanese restaurant in Shoreditch and  wrote Nanban: Japanese Soul Food.
  • Series 8, 2012 – Shelina Permalloo. Wrote Sunshine On A Plate and opened Lakaz Maman restaurant in Southampton.
  • Series 9, 2013 – Natalie Coleman. She has written her own cookbook and is Head Chef at The Winchmore pub in London.
  • Series 10, 2014 – Ping Coombes. She published her first book in 2016 and is a culinary partner and executive chef.
  • Series 11, 2015 – Simon Wood. Has opened his first restaurant, called Wood, in Manchester’s First Street.
  • Series 12, 2016 – Jane Devonshire. Jane is currently writing her debut cookbook.
  • Series 13, 2017 – Dr Saliha Mahmood Ahmed. Runs her own website where she hosts a seasoned cookery school.
  • Series 14, 2018 – Kenny Tutt. He is opening a new two-floor restaurant in his home town – Worthing, which is expected to open in May.

Source: Read Full Article