All primary schools in Tier 4 London to stay closed as ten more boroughs added in government U-turn

ALL primary schools in London will stay closed as ten more boroughs are added in a government U-turn.

The move comes after it was announced that primary schools in 49 of the worst-hit Covid areas would be closed until at least January 18.

⚠️ Read our coronavirus live blog for the latest news & updates

Some London areas were left off the original list, prompting borough leaders to say they would support schools that defied the government and stay closed.

Nine London authorities wrote a letter to Education Secretary Gavin Williamson asking for primary schools in their area to remain closed, while threatening to take legal action, the Guardian reported.

At an emergency Cabinet Office meeting today, 10 additional London education authorities were added to the list.

Paul Whiteman, National Association of Head Teachers general secretary, said: “Just at the moment when we need some decisive leadership, the government is at sixes and sevens.

"There is no clear rationale for why some schools are being closed and others are not and why primaries and special schools are being treated differently to secondaries.

“The government appears to be following neither the science nor the advice of education professionals on how best to preserve the quality of education for young people.

"The government cannot expect to command public confidence with such a confusing and last-minute approach.”

Source: Read Full Article