What is tier 3 lockdown and which areas are under the Covid restrictions?

ALL 67 million people in the UK are living under some sort of Covid-19 restrictions, but the rules vary depending in which area you are in.

In England, to try to prevent a second coronavirus wave, areas have been categorised in tiers of one to three – here are the locations under tier 3, which has the severest restrictions.

⚠️ Read our coronavirus live blog for the latest news & updates

What is Tier 3 lockdown?

Tier Three has the most serious measures – including a closure of pubs and bars and a ban on overnight stays outside the home.

However, restaurants and "food-based" pubs can remain open and you're allowed to order an alcoholic drink as long as it is with a "substantial meal".

Casinos, bookmakers and gyms are also shut under Tier 3.

Local politicians will decide whether businesses in the personal care, entertainment, sports and leisure should remain open – like beauty salons and sports.

Non-essential shops, schools, colleges and universities can remain open.

Non-essential travel is advised against, as well as travelling outside the area in which the restrictions have been imposed.

Prime Minister Boris Johnson said: "The exact restrictions at this level, Very High, will be worked out with local leaders, along with tailored packages of support."

The move will come as another blow to the hospitality industry left reeling after a 10pm curfew already in place.

Which areas are under Tier 3 lockdown restrictions now?

Areas currently under Tier 3 restrictions are:


  • The entire Cheshire town is under tier 3

South Yorkshire

  • Barnsley
  • Doncaster
  • Rotherham
  • Sheffield

Liverpool City Region

  • Liverpool
  • Knowsley
  • Wirral
  • St Helens
  • Sefton
  • Halton


  • Lancaster
  • Wyre
  • Ribble Valley
  • Pendle
  • Blackpool
  • Preston
  • Hyndburn
  • Fylde
  • South Ribble
  • Chorley
  • West Lancashire
  • Blackburn Darwen
  • Rossendale
  • Burnley

Greater Manchester

  • City of Manchester
  • Bolton
  • Bury
  • Manchester
  • Oldham
  • Rochdale
  • Salford
  • Stockport
  • Tameside
  • Trafford
  • Wigan

The city of Nottingham, and the Broxtowe, Gedling and Rushcliffe areas of Nottinghamshire, will enter Tier 3 at 12.01am on Thursday, October 29.

When was Greater Manchester moved into Tier 3 lockdown?

Boris Johnson announced stringent new coronavirus controls on 2.8million people in Greater Manchester after talks with local leaders failed to reach agreement.

Manchester was plunged into Tier 3 after tense crunch talks with Downing Street resulted in an angry stalemate as both sides continue to fight over a deal.

Speaking on October 20, Prime Minister Boris Johnson said: “I bitterly regret any restrictions that lead to damage to business and people's lives.”

“Nobody wants to put people in Greater Manchester through the experience they have been.

“Andy Burnham is right in what he says about the length of endurance Greater Manchaster has shown. The £22 million, that is additional to other support.”

“This is a Government that has put 190 billion already into supporting business and jobs across the country we are investing huge sums of money to support local authorities and another £1 billion.”

“Greater Manchester will have 'access to all kinds of funds."

What are the Tier 3 restrictions?

Tier 3 covers areas with a very high level of coronavirus infections and mean that:

  • You must not socialise with anybody you don't live with or have formed a support bubble with, in any indoor setting or in any private garden or at most outdoor hospitality venues and ticketed events
  • You are banned from socialising in a group of more than 6 in an outdoor public space such as a park or beach, the countryside, a public garden or a sports venue
  • Pubs and bars must close unless they operate as if they were a restaurant, which means serving substantial meals
  • Schools, universities and places of worship remain open
  • Weddings and funerals can go ahead with restrictions on the number of attendees – BUT wedding receptions are banned
  • Exercise classes and organised sport can continue to take place outdoors
  • You should continue to work from home where you can effectively do so

For those areas placed under a very high alert level, the government will also try to agree additional interventions with local authorities, including:

  • Closing all hospitality (except takeaway and delivery)
  • Shutting indoor and outdoor entertainment venues and tourist attractions
  • Closing venues such as leisure centres and gyms
  • Shutting public buildings, such as libraries and community centres
  • Closing personal care and close contact services

Health secretary Matt Hancock has said the government will rule nothing out over proposed plans to introduce a fourth tier of restrictions.

While nothing has been finalised an extra lockdown level could be added.

The even stricter measures could see restaurants and non-essential shops shut if infection rates in tier 3 areas do not fall.

When do Tier 3 lockdown restrictions come into force?

Restrictions in the Liverpool City Region came into force at midnight on Wednesday October 14.

The rules in Lancashire were enforced on Saturday, October 17.

Greater Manchester joined those areas in Tier 3 on Friday, October 23.

Warrington was put into Tier 3 on October 27.

The city of Nottingham, and the Broxtowe, Gedling and Rushcliffe areas of Nottinghamshire, will enter Tier 3 at 12.01am on Thursday, October 29.

How long will Tier Three lockdown restrictions last?

The measures will be reviewed every four weeks, but this does not necessarily mean they will be in place for a specific amount of time.

The restrictions will be eased depending on the current data.

The PM said: "Areas within the Very High Alert category will be reviewed every four weeks and nowhere will be shut down indefinitely."

But it's been insinuated that some of the restrictions could be in place for six months.


Source: Read Full Article