Frank Warren confirms he will appeal to WBA to declare Oleksandr Usyk's win against Daniel Dubois as a NO CONTEST | The Sun

BOXING promoter Frank Warren has confirmed he will appeal the result of Daniel Dubois' world title bout against Oleksandr Usyk.

Usyk retained his WBA, WBO and IBF heavyweight titles after beating the Brit into submission on Saturday night.

The Ukrainian dropped Dubois twice before the fight was eventually stopped in round nine.

However, the main event was blighted by controversy.

Dubois sensationally floored his opponent with a contentious punch in the fifth round – which was immediately deemed an illegal blow by the referee.

The punch appeared to land on or just below the belt, but the referee sided with Usyk and the 36-year-old was given four minutes to recover before continuing.

Read More on Boxing

Dubois rages he’s been ‘cheated’ out of Usyk victory as promoter blasts decision

Get £40 in free Bet Builder bets when you stake £10 on football with Paddy Power

Dubois was furious after the fight and claimed he was "cheated" out of a world title.

Fight promoter Warren agreed and confirmed the decision to appeal the outcome in a post-fight press conference.

He said: "The situation is that we will be lobbying the WBA to declare this as a no contest.

"The knockdown, which the referee said was below the belt, if anybody has looked back at it you would've seen that the punch actually landed on the waistband of his shorts.

Most read in Boxing


Dubois rages he's been 'cheated' out of Usyk victory as promoter blasts decision


Fans claim Usyk vs Daniel Dubois is 'FIXED’ as Frampton slams decision


Ukrainian champ WINS by TKO in 9th round after low blow controversy


Daniel Dubois stopped by Oleksandr Usyk in 9th round in controversial scrap


"That wasn't a low blow anyway because it hit him on the shorts, but the criteria – as is explained at the rules meeting – the waist is the midpoint of your hips, so it's much lower.

"That was a legitimate blow and it should've been stopped, he (Usyk) got three minutes 46 seconds of recovery time which was wrong.

"He got it wrong, the referee, and I still don't understand that if it was a low blow, why he didn't take any points off.

"That's where we're going with this."

Many boxing fans were also left furious with the outcome of the fight, with some even claiming it was fixed.

Source: Read Full Article